The 47th Annual NAACP Image Awards Review

Best-Pictures-From-NAACP-Image-Awards-2016

Did you guys take the time to support and watch the 47th NAACP Image Awards? Overall it was good show and everyone looked nice, as always! There were some things that kind of disturbed me though, LOL, and yes some of it involved shade directed towards different people. We’ll get into that later on. If you didn’t see the 47th NAACP Image Awards, you can check your local listings on TV One or watch it on YouTube. I provided a video before. I love what TV One is doing with Black entertainment right now. I’m telling you, give TV One a few more years and it will surpass BET in terms of popularity!

First of all, Anthony Anderson did a good job hosting and I loved the NWA opening! It seemed the entire night everyone who won an award stressed the idea of not seeking validation from mainstream Hollywood and mainstream America. The message was “cherish your own and do your own thing! Create your own opportunities.” Many people at the NAACP Image Awards were saying the same thing that many vloggers and people on blogs were saying. As I said before, I liked Jada’s message in her video. The reason I think it became such a big topic was because Jada put the video out on Martin Luther King’s birthday and people knew too that Will got no nominations for Concussion. Will got a lot of NAACP Image Awards nominations though! It was great to see Will and Jada come out and support the NAACP Image Awards. Like Anthony said, “they better be here with all this mess they have started!” LOL!

Click here to see all the great photos from the event!

Now I knew that Stacey Dash was going to get some shade thrown her way. After all, she said there should be no Black History Month, BET Awards, or NAACP Image Awards. LOL. Anthony basically bashed Stacey for being on FOX News and said she was cooning. He was like “what the h*ll is she doing??? Doesn’t she know FOX News is using her? Come on back to the Black people and do those C-list movies you used to do!” That was shade! Although it was kind of funny, I just felt like Anthony didn’t have to throw in the fact that Stacey was no A-lister. When you look at Hollywood and the entertainment industry in general, there’s not THAT MANY Black folks working on the big screen. MOST of them are doing shows and movies on TV One, Bounce TV, or BET. Some are doing reality TV too. In addition to that, they are doing independent films being released on Netflix. However, I do feel Stacey could have worded that better. It’s kind of sad that no one in the entertainment industry who’s Black has come to Stacey’s defense. I doubt she cares though. LOL. She also clapped back at Anthony.

Everyone who won an award definitely deserved it! I was proud of Sanaa Lathan, the Empire cast, Terrence Howard, Taraji P. Henson, the Straight Outta Compton cast, Anthony Anderson, John Legend, and Michael B. Jordan. I have to admit that some of the nominees and awards were predictable. The tribute to those who have passed was bittersweet. What I had an issue with is how the audience only cheered for Natalie Cole and Maurice White. When they showed the others who had passed, it was just claps. Just goes to show you people praise and show favoritism to people based on how successful they are or how rich they are. Am I right?

Now the moment that moved me the most was John Legend’s performance and speech. OMG I’m not even a huge John Legend fan but that whole segment was beautiful and I was in awe of his speech! He spoke so much truth and facts. He said things that most celebrities would never speak on. He spoke about reverse racism being fake, the Civil Rights movement, the over policing of Blacks, and etc. He definitely deserved that standing ovation! John Legend might have won me over as a fan that night!

I liked how the NAACP Image Awards highlighted Black history and things going on in the Black community. I was so glad they had Cree Summer as the announcer because it’s been awhile since we’ve seen her on TV! I also enjoyed seeing Claudia Jordan and her new costar for The Next 15 handling all the backstage action. They looked good!

If you like seeing Black people have fun, dress classy, talk about some real issues, and celebrate their culture, watch the NAACP Image Awards! I can guarantee you that you won’t be disappointed. This is one of the very FEW award shows that I watch now days. What I’m hoping is that one day TV One or Bounce TV will take over BET. Stacey Dash coming after BET might have been a good thing. I mean BET is OWNED by Viacom and some cable network providers don’t have some Viacom owned stations, like BET, VH1, MTV, and etc.

If you missed the 47th Annual NAACP Image Awards you can check it out below! There are several videos clips of it on YouTube as well. Enjoy! If you watched it, let me know what you thought!

To see all the winners, nominees, and categories, click here!

 

7 thoughts on “The 47th Annual NAACP Image Awards Review

  1. Hey Sis, great blog! I wish people would realize that non black people were a part of the NAACP. In fact one of the founders of the NAACP was white. I get tired of people seeming to thank that its just for black people. No, black people are the majority. This is off subject but I remember having a discussion with my fraternity brother (who is white) and we were talking about historically black colleges. He was surprised when I said you could go to a historically black college. He said no why I cant, I am white. I said lol they dont deny you based off your race (they did that to us for decades), its just that you would be the minority. He couldnt wrap his mind around being the minority when we are used to it. I have to admit though I didnt watch this years show, not because of any reason really other than the fact that awards shows have lost their luster to me. Growing up in the 80’s as a kid and even in the 90’s I was excited to watch any and every awards show and record them on VHS (showing my age) but now I am older and dont watch as much television I dont watch the awards shows like I used to, but I am glad it was a nice affair!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much bro again for commenting! All great points! I’m laughing at your white friend saying he couldn’t go to an HBUC! I’ve never been to one myself. I always thought those type of collages had a lot of petty drama b/c let’s be honest, you put a lot of black folks together who are young and it’s bound to be some drama! LOL. You are so right, people are so lost when it comes to history. They’d rather dismiss it and forget it. Absolutely, award shows were WAY better years ago! I only checked out this one because they had some nominees and winners that I liked. Overall, award shows are just not what they used to be!

      Like

  2. 2016 NAACP Image Awards was awesome! Anthony Anderson has done a great job hosting the NAACP Image Awards again this Year. I liked that Straight Out of Compton intro that Anthony had done. I didn’t know Anthony could rhyme on the mic like that. I was crying laughing when he was throwing shots Stacey Dash’s comments on Fox News & roasting her movie career LOL. Anthony’s comments about Will & Jada & Ben Carson were also funny. It was great to see Will & Jada including Spike Lee at the award show. I was laughing at Anthony’s comments on Will Smith giving him the number to his office instead of his cell phone number LOL. Taraji’s statement on Our black people doesn’t need to ask for acceptance to the caucasian side of Hollywood & supporting our own was great. Almost everyone that has won a Image Award that night had a rant about The Oscars, I loved it! I was surprise to see Sly Stallone at the NAACP Awards, he’s one of my favorite actors when it comes to Action Films. It was cool to see Bree Newsome win an Award too. John Legend’s speech on Standing up against the justice system & fighting for our black people to have equal rights in society was awesome. That Tribute segment to those that have passed on was indeed bittersweet but beautiful. Have you noticed in that tribute, so many of our Black Leaders & Pioneers has passed away SMH. It was an beautiful tribute. The NAACP Image Award show was great this year. I’m definitely going to watch this again on YouTube.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. 2016 NAACP Image Awards was awesome! Anthony Anderson has done a great job hosting the NAACP Image Awards again this Year. I liked that Straight Out of Compton intro that Anthony had done. I didn’t know Anthony could rhyme on the mic like that. I was crying laughing when he was throwing shots Stacey Dash’s comments on Fox News & roasting her movie career LOL. Anthony’s comments about Will & Jada was funny. It was great to see Will & Jada including Spike Lee at the award show. I was laughing at Anthony’s comments on Will Smith giving him the number to his office instead of his cell phone number LOL. Taraji’s statement on Our black people doesn’t need to ask for acceptance to the Caucasian side of Hollywood was awesome & truthful. John Legend’s speech on Standing up for our brothas & sistas to have equal rights in the justice system & in society was great, I agree with him. It was cool to see Cree Summer being the announcer for the NAACP Image Awards. I was surprise to see Sly Stallone, he’s one of my favorite actors in action movies. Almost everyone that had won an award had a rant about The Oscars, I loved it! That Tribute to those that have passed away was bittersweet but beautiful. I loved NAACP Awards this year. I’ll most definitely watch this again on YouTube.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well stated! Thank goodness for YouTube because now people who didn’t see it can re-watch it again! What I was disturbed by was racist trolls commenting under the NAACP uploads and those people really really annoy me. They stay pressed whenever we celebrate ourselves. LOL. Can you say insecure? The video had like over 100 thumbs down and I knew they were from trolls. SMH.

      Like

Leave a Reply

